Engaging Democracy: Voting Dates and Key Information for Pune, 2024

The Election Commission of India announced on March 16 the dates for voting and the declaration of results for the upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha Elections. Scheduled to span across 7 phases, the elections will commence on April 19 and conclude on June 1, covering a total of 543 constituencies.

In Maharashtra, which has 48 parliamentary seats, the voting process will be divided into five phases, scheduled for April 19, April 26, May 7, May 13, and May 20.

Pune Lok Sabha elections:

  • Pune: Phase 4, May 13
  • Shirur: Phase 4, May 13
  • Baramati: Phase 3, May 7
  • Maval: Phase 4, May 13

The counting of votes and declaration of results for all the seats in Maharashtra will be completed by June 4.

In the 2019 elections, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) won two seats in Shirur and Baramati, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Shiv Sena claimed victory in Pune and Maval constituencies, respectively. All four seats in Pune are designated as unreserved categories.

Winners of Pune district Lok Sabha seat in 2019:

  • Pune: Girish Bapat (BJP)
  • Shirur: Amol Kolhe (NCP)
  • Maval: Shrirang Chandu Barne (Shiv Sena)

According to recent data from Maharashtra’s chief electoral office, Pune district has the highest number of voters in the state, with 82.8 lakh registered voters. The state has a total of 9.2 crore voters, including 4.8 crore women.

Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar announced on March 16 that a whopping 96.8 crore voters are prepared to cast their ballots in the upcoming 2024 Lok Sabha elections. India, the world’s largest democracy, is gearing up for this massive electoral process, with 10.5 lakh polling stations and 1.5 crore polling officials and security personnel ready to facilitate the voting process.

Leave a comment