ZPM’s Landslide Victory Upends Mizoram’s Political Landscape

The most recent Mizoram Legislative Assembly election was held on November 7, 2023, to elect all 40 members of the Mizoram Legislative Assembly. The votes were counted and the results were declared on December 4, 2023.

The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) emerged victorious, winning 25 of the 40 seats. The Mizo National Front (MNF), the incumbent party, secured 15 seats. The Indian National Congress (INC) won 5 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) failed to win any seats.

Here is a summary of the results:

PartySeats Won
Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM)25
Mizo National Front (MNF)15
Indian National Congress (INC)5
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)0

The ZPM’s victory was a surprise to many, as the MNF had been in power for the past five years. The ZPM’s campaign focused on issues such as corruption and unemployment, and it appears that these issues resonated with voters.

The MNF’s defeat is a major setback for the party. The MNF had been in power for 10 years prior to 2018, and it had hoped to continue its winning streak. However, the party’s campaign was hampered by allegations of corruption, and it appears that these allegations cost the party the election.

The INC’s performance was also disappointing. The INC had hoped to make a comeback in Mizoram, but the party was only able to win 5 seats. The INC’s campaign was plagued by infighting, and it appears that this infighting hurt the party’s chances of winning.

The BJP’s failure to win any seats is a sign that the party has not been able to make inroads in Mizoram. The BJP had hoped to make gains in the state, but the party’s campaign was largely ignored by voters.

The Mizoram Legislative Assembly election was a closely contested race, and the ZPM’s victory is a significant achievement for the party. The ZPM will now have to form a government and address the issues that are facing the state.

Leave a comment