10 BJP MPs, Including 2 Ministers, Resign After Assembly Election Wins – A Potential Cabinet Reshuffle Looms?

In a major political development, 10 Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Members of Parliament (MPs), including two Union Ministers, have resigned from their Lok Sabha seats after winning assembly elections in their respective states. These resignations have triggered speculation about a possible reshuffle in the Union Cabinet. Ten BJP MPs, including two ministers, have stepped down from Parliament after securing victories in recent state assembly elections. This move has sparked rumors of a potential cabinet reshuffle.

Resignations and Speculation:

The ten MPs who submitted their resignations include:

  • Narendra Singh Tomar, Union Minister of Agriculture and Farmers Welfare
  • Prahlad Patel, Union Minister of State for Food Processing Industries and Jal Shakti
  • Rakesh Singh
  • Uday Pratap Singh
  • Riti Pathak (all from Madhya Pradesh)
  • Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore
  • Diya Kumari (both from Rajasthan)
  • Kirori Lal Meena (Rajya Sabha MP from Rajasthan)
  • Arun Sao
  • Gomti Sai (both from Chhattisgarh)

The remaining two MPs, Baba Balaknath from Rajasthan and Renuka Singh from Chhattisgarh, are yet to resign though they have also won assembly seats.

These resignations are expected to necessitate a reshuffle in the Union Cabinet, as Prime Minister Narendra Modi seeks to fill the vacant ministerial positions. While the timing and extent of the reshuffle remain uncertain, it is likely to take place in the near future.

Possible Reasons for Resignations:

There are several possible reasons why these MPs have chosen to resign from Parliament:

  • Focus on State Assembly Responsibilities: With their victories in the assembly elections, these politicians will now hold influential positions in their respective states. They may feel that they can better serve their constituents by focusing on their state-level duties.
  • Party Strategy: The BJP may be seeking to promote younger leaders and bring fresh faces into the Union Cabinet. By resigning from Parliament, these MPs create openings for new blood to be inducted into the government.
  • Anti-Defection Law: The Indian Anti-Defection Law prohibits elected representatives from switching parties without resigning from their current position. By winning assembly seats on a BJP ticket, these MPs are required to step down from their Lok Sabha seats.

Potential Impact:

The resignations of these MPs are likely to have a significant impact on the Indian political landscape. The reshuffle in the Union Cabinet could lead to changes in government policy and priorities. Additionally, the influx of experienced politicians into state assemblies could boost the BJP’s presence and influence at the state level.


The resignation of 10 BJP MPs, including two ministers, has sent shockwaves through the Indian political landscape. This move has triggered speculation about a potential reshuffle in the Union Cabinet and is likely to have a significant impact on the country’s political future.

Leave a comment